American Bicycle Girl

Home Sweet Boat!

Leave a comment

Man it’s hard to blog while traveling, conferencing, job hunting and home searching! Thankfully, I’m finally on my way to getting settled into LA, or should I say sailed in? That’s right friends, I’ve moved from the Appalachian mountain town of Blacksburg, Virginia to Marina Del Rey in Los Angeles, California. And I have the incredible warmshowers.org website to thank! Just 3 days ago I messaged Rob, one of FOUR warmshowers hosts in the Marina (turns out touring cyclists and adventurers thrive in boating communities, always sailing around the world, leading minimalistic livestyles and such). He promptly took me in and a day later invited me to stay as a roommate and share live-aboard costs until I’m accepted into one of LA’s intentional communities. So I live on the boat pictured below! This definitely marks the billionth realization I’ve had of how little ‘things’ one needs in life. Coming out west with a bike, pack and pannier bags wins yet again.

Author: Lyndsay McKeever

Virginia Tech Alternative Transportation Intern. Student Government Association Transportation Director. Active Transportation Advocate and Commuter Cyclist. Sustainability Girl. VT Cycling Team Member.

Leave a Reply

